Samos is an island in the Aegean Sea. Under Turkish rule since the 15th century, Samos became an autonomous principality under a Christian head of state in 1832, under British, French and Russian protection but still paying tribute to the Ottomans. In September 1912, a revolt took place, provisional government was established, and Turkish troops withdrew. The government issued first stamps in November. On August 10, 1913, under the Treaty of Bucharest, Samos was united with Greece.
Samos issued its own stamps from November 1912. There were four issues and 19 stamps in all. Greek stamps were introduced in 1914, but there were also overprints of the Samos types until 1915.