1: King Albert (1) memorial monument (2) (issued in1941)
2: 1942 War fund set (3)
3-5: The suppression of slavery 50th anniversary (1947)
6-12: 1947 definitives: Indigenous art


1-3: 1942 overprints
4: Matadi-Leopoldstad railway 50th anniversary (1948)
5: U.P.U. (4) 75th anniversary (1949)
6: 50th anniversary of Katanga province (5) (1950)
7, 8: Victory over African slavers annyversary (1951)
9: St. Francis Xavier (6) 400th birth anniversary (1952)
10: Kivu-festival (7) (1953)
11, 12: Royal Colonial Institute 25th anniversary (1954)
13-16: 1955 definitives: king Baudouin I (8) and landscapes
17, 18: International Congress of African Tourism (1955)
19, 20: W. A. Mozart (9) 200th birth anniversary
21-23: Red Cross fund (1957)
24: Belgian Congo 50th anniversary (1958)
25-36: 1959 definitives
37: 1959 Christmas
38, 39: C.C.T.A (10) 10th anniversary (1960)



1960 Pro Juventute (for the Youth): Olympic Games in Rome:



(1) Albert I (1875-1934) was Belgian king from 1909 till his death in a climbing accident.

(2) King Albert’s memorial monument was erected in Leopoldstad (now Kinshasa) in 1938. The figure of the king was designed by Arthur Dupagne.

(3) This issue was nicknamed “The Spitfire”, because the surtax was used to finance the production of the Spitfire airplanes.

(4) The Universal Postal Union (UPU) is an international organization that coordinates postal policies among member nations, and hence the worldwide postal system. Each member country agrees to the same set of terms for conducting international postal duties. The Universal Postal Union's headquarters are located in Bern, Switzerland.

(5) King Leopold took possession of Katanga and on 15 April 1891 its administration on behalf of the Congo Free State was entrusted to one of Leopold's companies, the Compagnie du Katanga. No effective administration was set up until 19 June 1900, when it was renamed the Comité Spécial du Katanga, an administration separate from that of the Congo Free State. The natives resisted but all rebellions wete suppressed.
After the take-over of the Congo Free State by the Belgian government in 1910, Katanga was integrated into the Belgian Congo but it retained a large measure of autonomy until October 1933.

(6) Saint Francis Xavier (1506 – 1552) was a Roman Catholic missionary and co-founder of the Society of Jesus. He led an extensive mission into Asia, mainly in the Asian Portuguese Empire of the time. He spread Catholicism most notably in India, but also ventured into Japan, Borneo, the Moluccas, and other areas which had thus far not been visited by Christian missionaries.

(7) The Kivu-Festival was organized as a trade fair and propaganda for the tourism. The stamps depict Kivu Lake, Africa's highest lake.

(8) Baudouin I was Belgian king from 1951 until his death in 1993.

(9) W. A. Mozart (1756-1791) was one of the most significant and influential composers of Western classical music. Mozart was born in Salzburg, now in Austria but at the time the capital of a small independent Archbishopric within the Holy Roman Empire.
Mozart's musical ability started to become apparent when he was a toddler. He was the son of Leopold Mozart, one of Europe's leading musical pedagogues. Mozart received intensive musical training from his father, including instruction in playing both the piano and the violin. He developed very rapidly and began to compose his own works at the age of five. Leopold soon realized that he could make a substantial income by showcasing his son as a Wunderkind in the courts of Europe. During his trips, Mozart met a great number of musicians, and knew the works of other great composers. Mozart spent his final years in Vienna where he died in 1791.
Mozart was prolific and wrote in many genres. Perhaps his best admired work is in opera, the piano concerto, the symphony, and in the string quartet and string quintet. Mozart also wrote much work for solo piano, other forms of chamber music, masses and other religious music, and endless dances, divertimenti, and other forms of light entertainment.

(10) The Commission for Technical Co-operation in Africa South of the Sahara (1950-1965) was a non-political body which has been established by an international agreement concluded between its members for the purpose of encouraging and strengthening technical co-operation in all fields affecting the well-being of the peoples of the territories of its members and had under its aegis the Inter-African Labour Institute and the Inter-African Labour Conference.