After Balkan Wars Korçë (Koritza) became part of Autonomous Northern Epirus zone as it was claimed both by Albania and Greece. During World War I, the Austro-Hungarians took Koritza, to be followed by the Greeks again and finally by France, which occupied Koritza between 1916-1920. It ultimately remained part of Albania, as determined by the International Boundary Commission, which affirmed the country's post-war borders.

The French army entered Koritza on November 29, 1916. In December, a protocol was signed between French commanders and a group of Albanian representatives. A local government composed of 12 members was appointed and was granted many legislative powers. Koritza was thus awarded the statute of autonomous province. The Skanderbeg flag was approved together with the tricolor ribbon and used in the city hall.

In 1917 a Republic of Koritza was proclaimed. This was meant to be a forerunner of the Republic of Pindus which was supposed to become an autonomous state.

However on February 16, 1918, the protocol was formally suppressed and autonomy abolished. Koritza was given the statute of territory (Quarku i Korçës) and from then governed by the French; the council of 12 members was given a simple advisory capacity. Following this, the Skanderbeg flag was forbidden, and the French flag used instead.

The state collapsed when Albanian central troops entered Koritza on May 26 1920, following an agreement with the French. The last French troops left on May 29. However, the French influence remained strong until the Second World War.

The Koritza regime issued a number of stamps depicting Albanian double-headed eagle.